Affordable Care Act website flaws

You can’t build a castle without a solid foundation.

Similarly, you can’t expect the Affordable Care Act to succeed without first building an effective organization and strong leadership team, or the Department of Defense (DoD) to achieve audit readiness without first implementing effective policy management, or the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) to implement an electronic health record system without first improving internal policies and practices.

The Affordable Care Act and its website is not the only federal program failing the public.

In the 2012 U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) Financial Report, agency leadership recognized 35 material weaknesses and stated, “many of our systems are old and handle or exchange information in ways that do not readily support strong financial management.”

A recent investigation shows the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) and the Department of Defense (DoD) spent at least $1.3 billion during the last four years trying unsuccessfully to develop a single electronic health-records system between the two departments — leaving veterans’ disability claims to continue piling up in paper files across the country.

The federal government has used taxpayer dollars to deploy a number of resources to oversee federal programs that could be leveraged to foster a high-performance culture, including:
– Office of Personnel Management (OPM) Federal Employee Viewpoint Survey
– Office of Special Counsel (OSC) E-Filing System
– Performance.gov
– Regulations.gov
– Federal Code of Ethics

Unfortunately, these resources do not share information. Consolidating these resources would make it possible to implement and maintain a high performance culture throughout the federal government to better serve the public.

Several members of the U.S. Congress that have expressed an interest in consolidating federal resources to ensure that federal programs have the actionable intelligence they need to spend taxpayer dollars effectively, including:
1. Rep. Kyrsten Sinema, Michael Brownlie (Michael.Brownlie@mail.house.gov)
2. Rep. Ann McLane Kuster, Blake Anderson (Blake.Anderson@mail.house.gov)
3. Rep. Todd Young, Trevor Foughty (Trevor.Foughty@mail.house.gov)
4. Rep. John Barrow, Jonathan Arogeti (Jonathan.Arogeti@mail.house.gov)
5. Rep. Tulsi Gabbard, Dylan Beesley (Dylan.Beesley@mail.house.gov)
6. Rep. Dan Lipinski, Frank Pigulski (Frank.Pigulski@mail.house.gov)
7. Rep. Jackie Speier, Mandy Smithberger (Mandy.Smithberger@mail.house.gov)
8. Senator Michael Bennet, Margot Beausey (Margot_Beausey@bennet.senate.gov)
9. Senator Dianne Feinstein, Devin Rhinerson (Devin_Rhinerson@feinstein.senate.gov)

“In any situation, the best thing you can do is the right thing; the next best thing you can do is the wrong thing; the worst thing you can do is nothing,” Theodore Roosevelt.

Advertisements